MtG Players Union
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Organized Play Reform Idea

2 posters

Go down

Organized Play Reform Idea Empty Organized Play Reform Idea

Post  TreemanX Wed Feb 06, 2008 10:59 pm

Wow, my title sounds like politics from 8th period today...
Anyway, I am not a pro player at all. I am one of the many faceless PTQ players that would like one day to make it to the Pro Tour.

I was wasting my math class today and was thinking of these ideas.
PTQs, as I understand, are the driving force behind the Pro Tour. After 8/9 rounds of Swiss and getting your hands on Tarmogofys and Thoughseizes, you have to hope that you get a X-2 record just to get into the Top 8! Then you have to play the Top 8 to get the plane ticket and Invitation. Wizards just announced that now a Qualified person can play in a PTQ and take that plane ticket away from the PTQ players and maybe the invite gets offered to the loser.

I think that there is need of some revising there. There are many things that they can do. First, Wizards could allow more events to be sancitioned. The events don't always have to be in the biggest cities of the state (country?) w/e.
Second, Wizards could give the Top 8 invites to the event and then you are playing for the plane ticket.

For Pro Tours, Wizards having only having 3 (which I think is terrible and I want the Master Series back...)is a horrible thing. This is where all players want to be and make some money from time to time is by being good and staying on these events. Now, just a reminder, there are other games that all their events are like Grand Prix every 2/3 months and has a good amount of prize support and Wizards could easily fix their crappy event calander and run a GP every 3/4 weeks with event coverage and possiblily now of Independantly sponsered video coverage of these events.